Enforce accepting Terms of Service
When it is required for all users of the GitLab instance to accept the Terms of Service, this can be configured by an admin on the settings page:
The terms itself can be entered using Markdown. For each update to the terms, a new version is stored. When a user accepts or declines the terms, GitLab will keep track of which version they accepted or declined.
When an admin enables this feature, they will automattically be directed to the page to accept the terms themselves. After they accept, they will be directed back to the settings page.
When this feature is enabled, a checkbox will be available in the sign-up form.
This checkbox will be required during sign up.
Users can review the terms entered in the admin panel before accepting. The page will be opened in a new window so they can continue their registration afterwards.
When this feature is enabled, the users that have not accepted the terms of service will be presented with a screen where they can either accept or decline the terms.
If the user accepts the terms, they will be directed to where they were going. After a sign-in or sign-up this will most likely be the dashboard.
If the user was already logged in when the feature was turned on, they will be asked to accept the terms on their next interaction.
If a user declines the terms, they will be signed out.